Second DWI Defense Rockland County
A DWI offense is a serious matter. A second DWI offense is a dire situation. New York law imposes a strict set of penalties. Courts are hostile towards repeat offenders and will less likely bend to lessen the charges. You are considered a repeat offender if you are over 21 and have been documented with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08%, are under 21 years of age and have been documented with a 0.02% BAC, or drive a commercial vehicle and have been documented with a BAC of 0.04% for a second or subsequent time within 10 years of the first conviction. If you have been charged with a second Rockland County DWI, it is imperative that you contact a Spring Valley attorney with the experience to fight these charges and conclude your legal matter in the best way possible. Kevin T. Conway has been a DWI attorney for many years, serving clients from Nyack, Spring Valley, Nanuet, New City, Piermont, Pearl River, and all of Rockland County. If you need an experienced DWI attorney, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway immediately.
Consequences of a second DWI
In the state of New York, if you’re charged with a second DWI within 10 years, you are facing a class E felony. As a felony, the matter can be referred to the grand jury. If they return an indictment against you, the case gets transferred from the justice court to the county court. A felony DWI offender can face a variety of penalties, including a revoked license for at least 1 year, a fine up to $5000, a state or local prison sentence not to exceed 4 years, and a possible sentence of probation of up to five years. A felony conviction would seriously impact your life. You would have a permanent stain on your record that would prohibit you from many jobs, state licenses, and the right to vote.
Can I get a conditional license for my second DWI?
You are eligible for a conditional license after your first DWI if you participate and pass the Impaired Driver Program. Regarding a second Rockland County DWI, if you have participated in the Impaired Driver Program or were eligible and did not do so within the previous 5 years, you will not be eligible for a conditional license. You will not be able to drive to work, school, or medical appointments and will have to serve the full term of your suspension or revocation. Once it is completed, you will have to reapply to the DMV for a new driver license.
Contact an effective Spring Valley DWI, Rockland County DWI defense attorney
The penalties for a second DWI are severe. The prosecution and the courts treat a second offense harsher than a first offense. It is important that if you are charged with a felony you seek the advice of a criminal attorney who is versed in DWI defense. Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience working with Rockland County residents faced with a DWI. If you need the legal advice or passionate defense of an effective Rockland County DWI attorney, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway.
Kevin T. Conway is an effective DWI defense attorney in Spring Valley serving the communities of Airmont, Chestnut Ridge, Nanuet, New City, Nyack, Piermont, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Spring Valley, Suffern, West Haverstraw. Our Spring Valley firm also serves the towns of Clarkstown, Ramapo, Stony Point, Haverstraw, Orangeburg, and all of Rockland County. Contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a consultation.