High BAC

Aggravated DWI Defense in Rockland County

Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in the state of New York. In Rockland County, law enforcement is proactive and aggressive to get drunk drivers off the road. If you are caught driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.18% or higher, you may be charged with an aggravated driving while intoxicated (A- DWI). This is a very serious offense.  New York does not take drinking and driving lightly and courts are hostile towards people caught drunk driving with such a high BAC. The consequences can be quite severe.  If you have been charged with an aggravated DWI, you should contact an experienced DWI attorney as soon as possible. The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway has handled countless DWI cases over the last 30 years.  If you need Rockland County DWI defense, contact our firm.

Consequences of a first Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (A-DWI)

If you are caught driving a vehicle with a high enough BAC to constitute an aggravated driving while intoxicated charge, you are facing dire circumstances. If convicted, you could be subject to:

  • Fines up to $2500
  • Jail time up to 1 year
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Surcharges and assessment cost

Even with such a high BAC, you may be eligible for the Impaired Drinking Driver Program and a conditional license.  To achieve this, you need a persistent and effective lawyer. Failure to complete the program will reinstate the revocation of your license.

Consequences of a second Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (A- DWI)

If you are documented with a BAC of 0.18% or higher for a second time in 10 years, you may be charged with a second aggravated DWI. A second A-DWI is a class E felony. You will be treated as a repeat offender. You face penalties including:

  • Fines up to $5000
  • Jail time up to 4 year
  • A revoked license for at least 18 months
  • Surcharges and assessment cost

You may be required to attend the Impaired Driver Program at your own cost. Failure to complete the program may be considered a violation of probation.

Consequences of a second Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (A-DWI)

If you are charged with a third or subsequent aggravated DWI, you are facing a grave situation. This offense is a Class D felony and comes with severe penalties. New York courts are hostile towards repeat offenders and will act aggressively when sentencing you. You may be subject to:

  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Jail time up to 7 year
  • A revoked license for at least 18 months
  • Surcharges and assessment cost

In addition, the court could mandate your participation in the Impaired Driver Program. If you failed to complete the program, it may be considered a violation of your probation.

Contact a Spring Valley aggravated DWI defense lawyer

If you have been charged with a Rockland County aggravated DWI, you have a lot to consider about your legal situation. If you are caught 2 or more times within 10 years, you could be charged with a felony. It is imperative that you contact a Rockland County DWI attorney to effectively defend your aggravated DWI case. If you need quality legal services, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway to fight for your livelihood. If you are convicted, you could face jail time, serious fines, and a permanent criminal record that will affect the rest of your life. Contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway to represent your interests.

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced DWI defense lawyer located in Spring Valley serving the communities of Airmont, Chestnut Ridge, Nanuet, New City, Nyack, Piermont, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Spring Valley, Suffern, West Haverstraw, Clarkstown, Ramapo, Stony Point, Haverstraw, Orangeburg, and all of Rockland County. If you need an effective DWI attorney, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a consultation.