Defending Rockland County clients charged with marijuana possession
Many people are misinformed about the laws of New York regarding marijuana possession. Though marijuana laws continue to change at the state level across the United States, here in New York, it is still illegal. According to the Controlled Substance Act of 1970, marijuana is a schedule I drug accompanied by heroin, ecstasy, LSD, peyote, and Quaaludes. Regarding marijuana, many states have made their own laws for marijuana violations, ignoring its place at the top of the Controlled Substance Act. Some states have allowed for the use of marijuana for medical purposes. Others have outright legalized the drug for recreational use. New York has done neither. If you are caught with marijuana in New York, you are facing consequences. Depending on the amount of marijuana, you could face something as simple as a violation or as serious as a felony. If you are charged with a marijuana possession charge, you need to consider your legal options. If you need the legal assistance of a committed Rockland County attorney, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway.
Simple Rockland County marijuana possession charge
If you are caught with marijuana, your consequences depend on the amount. If you are caught with up to 25 grams for the first time, you face a fine of $100, considered to be a minor infraction. Your second offense within 3 years is also a minor infraction and comes with a fine of $200. If you are caught with marijuana three or more times within 3 years, you face a fine of $250 and possible jail time up to 15 days. Penalties escalate as the amount grows.
Spring Valley marijuana possession over 25 grams
If you are caught with over 25 grams of marijuana, you face criminal charges.
- Between 25 grams to 2 ounces is a class B misdemeanor. This is a crime that comes with possible jail time up to 3 months and a fine of no more than $500.
- Between 2 and 8 ounces is a class A misdemeanor and comes with possible incarceration up to 1 year and a fine of no more than $1000.
- Between 8 and 16 ounces is a class E felony and comes with possible jail time up to 4 years and a potential fine as high as $5000.
- Between 16 ounces and 10 pounds is a class D felony and comes with potential incarceration up to 7 years and a fine up to $5000.
- Over 10 pounds is a class C felony and comes with potential jail time of 15 years and a fine up to $15,000.
Sale of marijuana in Rockland County
If you are caught selling marijuana in Rockland County, you will be charged with at least a misdemeanor, regardless of the amount. Even sale of a marijuana cigarette is a criminal offense.
- Sale of 1 marijuana cigarette or the exchange of under 2 grams without profit is a class B misdemeanor and comes with potential jail time up to 3 months and a fine up to $500.
- Sale of fewer than 25 grams is a class A misdemeanor and comes with potential jail time up to 1 year and a fine up to $1000.
- Sale between 25 grams and 4 ounces is a class E felony and comes with potential jail time up to 4 years and a fine up to $5000.
- Sale of 4-16 ounces is a class D felony and comes with the potential of 7 years in jail and a fine up to $5000.
- Sale over 1 pound is a class C felony and comes with potential jail time up to 15 years and a fine of $15,000.
Contact a Spring Valley attorney when you are charged with marijuana
The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience working with clients from Spring Valley and Rockland County who face marijuana violations. If you are convicted of possession over 25 grams or any sales charges, you will have a criminal record that will follow you for years. To fight these charges, you need to contact an attorney that has the skill and knowledge fight for your interests and work tirelessly to have the case dismissed. If you need effective representation regarding drug offenses in Spring Valley or Rockland County, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway.