First Offense DWI Defense in Rockland County
Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in New York State. The laws are severe and the state actively seeks out drunk drivers while courts are hostile towards cases. A Rockland County DWI charge can impact the rest of your life. If you are found guilty or plead guilty to a DWI charge, you could have a criminal record. A first offense DWI is a misdemeanor. In the future, if you were charged with a DWI again, you would face a felony and you’d be subject to having it presented to a grand jury and returnable as an indictable offense in county court. Contact our firm for a consultation.
If you are stopped because you are suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol, you should know what the state considered “intoxicated.” The state defines driving while intoxicated differently depending on your age and situation based on your blood alcohol content (BAC). Your BAC can be determined by various chemical tests. You are considered impaired if you have a BAC of:
- 0.08% and you are older than 21 years of age
- 0.04% and you are older than 21, and driving a commercial vehicle
- 0.02% and you are younger than 21
A first-time conviction for a DWI opens you up to serious ramifications. You may face financial penalties between $500 and $1,000. Your license will be suspended for a six-month period at a minimum. If you’ve had no DWI convictions before, you may be eligible for a conditional license. Depending upon your BAC or the severity of the case, the judge can also impose an interlock device for your car that has to be utilized both when you start your car and as you’re driving. If you are charged with a DWI, you are looking at a criminal charge. With this comes a criminal record that cannot be expunged. It is imperative that you contact an attorney to explore every legal mean to lessen the charge or have it dismissed.
Can you plea bargain a DWI?
In New York, you may be able to plea bargain the charges of driving while intoxicated to a driving while ability impaired. It is important to consider your options because you could avoid the criminal charge of a DWI and pay fines instead of having a permanent stain on your record. A driving while ability impaired charge is a traffic ticket. It’s a violation. It would only have a 90-day suspension period of your license with the eligibility for a conditional license. You need an experienced and effective attorney to convince the prosecutor and the judge that you’re entitled to that plea bargain or a lesser charge.
Spring Valley DWI, Rockland County DWI attorney
A DWI conviction is a very serious offense. It is very important that you consult with an attorney who’s versed in DWI defense. The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience with Rockland County DWI defense. Kevin T. Conway previously served as the county-wide DWI prosecutor overseeing all DWI cases; both misdemeanors and felonies. This invaluable knowledge allows the firm to offer the highest quality of legal services. If you are faced with a first offense Rockland County DWI, you should contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway.
The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway is an experienced DWI defense team in Spring Valley serving the communities of Airmont, Chestnut Ridge, Nanuet, New City, Nyack, Piermont, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Spring Valley, Suffern, West Haverstraw, Clarkstown, Ramapo, Stony Point, Haverstraw, Orangeburg, and all of Rockland County. Contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a consultation.