close search ×

Consequences of Driving Without a License in New York

In order for an individual to legally drive a vehicle, they must have a driver’s license. This is required to ensure the safety of everyone on the road. In order to obtain a license, a driver must go through the right channels in order to learn to correctly operate a vehicle. If they do not know how to do so, they can risk the lives of many people. Also, drivers who once had a license and disobeyed the rules of the road may have their license taken away. When a license is revoked, it is illegal for them to continue to drive. Drivers found without a license in the state of New York may be penalized with harsh fines and even possible jail time. If you were charged with driving without a license, it is important to contact an experienced attorney to help your case.

Driving Without a License vs. Aggravated Unlicensed Operation

In order to understand the consequences, it is important to understand the difference between being charged with driving without a license and aggravated unlicensed operation of a vehicle. When an individual is found driving without a license, they drove without ever being issued a valid driver’s license. Aggravated unlicensed operation (AUO) of a vehicle is when an individual drove a vehicle regardless of their license revocation. Doing so is a criminal offense that can lead to very serious consequences.


All drivers are required to have a license before driving a vehicle. Even still, some people choose to violate this law and get behind the wheel without one.

When an individual is charged with driving without a license, they could face penalties for their actions. The driver may be required to pay fines ranging from $75 to $300. Although it is rare, consequences may also include jail time up to 15 days.

When an individual is charged with an AUO, they are facing a criminal charge. An AUO in the third degree is a misdemeanor. This may require fines between $200 and $500, as well as possible jail time up to 30 days. If an individual is charged with AUO in the second degree, it means they were caught a second time within 18 months. In the event of this, their penalties may worsen. If charged with AUO in the first degree, it could mean a variety of things. Either the driver was found committing an AUO while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, failed to appear in court or pay a fine for a previous suspension, or drove with a permanently revoked license. A first-degree AUO is a felony, with penalties that include fines from $500 to $5000 as well as imprisonment for up to 4 years.

Contact our Firm

If you have been charged for driving without a license and wish to speak with an attorney, contact theLaw Office of Kevin T. Conway today.

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by