Speeding

Representing Rockland County clients issued speeding tickets

If you have been issued a speeding ticket in Rockland County, New York, your case isΒ heard by the Traffic Violations Bureau of the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. When you are issued a speeding ticket, you may consider taking care of the issue by yourself. Having an effective attorney can give you a better chance of lessening the charges or dismissing the ticket altogether. If you are guilty of a speeding ticket in New York State, you will be issued fines and points to your license. Points on your license will impact your driving record and insurance premium. The more points you have on your license, the more expensive your insurance payments. If you have been caught speeding and need an attorney to fight the charge, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway. Our team will explore all legal defenses in order to fight your ticket. If you need our legal services, contact our Spring Valley law firm today.

New York State speeding penalties: Points

All law enforcement in New York State follows the same guidelines to categorize speeding violations. When you are caught speeding, the points you will be issued correlate to the speed at which your car was documented traveling. The guidelines are straightforward and include the following:

  • 1-10 miles per hour over the speed limit is a 3 point violation
  • 11-20 miles per hour over the speed limit is a 4 point violation
  • 21-30 miles per hour over the speed limit is a 6 point violation
  • 31-40 miles per hour over the speed limit is an 8 point violation
  • Excess of 41 miles per hour over the speed limit is an 11 point violation

If you receive 11 points within an 18 month period, your license will be suspended.

The cost of your speeding ticket

Depending on your speed and where you were pulled over, the cost of your ticket could vary. If you were issued and ticket and guilty in New York City, you will most likely pay more than if you were convicted in a rural area. Those who receive 6 or more points on their driving record within 18 months are subject to an additional fine called a Driver Responsibility Assessment. The fine is $100 every year for 3 years. If you receive more than 6 points, you will have an additional $25 fine for each additional point.

Contact a Spring Valley Attorney with experience fighting speeding tickets

The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience assisting clients who have been issued speeding tickets. If you have been issued a ticket, it is in your best interests to contact a Rockland County lawyer to fight the charge. Our Spring Valley legal team will explore all defenses to fight the ticket, including scrutinizing the way in which your speed was documented and the way you were pulled over. If you need quality legal services from a skilled and knowledgeable Rockland County traffic violations attorney, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway as soon as possible.