close search ×

Will My DWI Case Go to Trial in NYS?

Many DWI cases do not go to trial. However, if you are intent on fighting the charges against you then you need to be prepared for one. A New City DWI defense attorney can help you form an affirmative defense against your charges and figure out whether or not you should take your case to trial.

What Kind of Trial Do You Get in a DWI Case?

If your case does go to trial, you will have a choice between a jury trial or a bench trial, which is a trial in front of a judge. Whichever option you choose, the state and you will both be given the opportunity to plead your cases and present evidence.

Keep in mind that it can take a little while before your DWI case proceeds to trial. You have to wait for the district attorney to be prepared for trial. This can occur 90 days after your arraignment, but wait times can sometimes be even longer.

How Can I Be Punished for a DWI?

The state of New York takes driving under the influence seriously and the penalties for a DWI are harsh as a result. Even if this is only your first charge, punishments could include:

  • Fines between $500 and $1,000
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device
  • A six-month suspension of your driver’s license

If you are facing your second or third DWI charge, penalties can be even more severe. You could be looking at:

  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • The complete revocation of your license
  • A prison sentence of up to seven years
  • Additional state surcharges and fines

It is important that you do everything that you can to defend yourself from a DWI charge, and working with an attorney that has experience helping clients fight these charges is one step you should seriously consider taking.

How Can a DWI Attorney Help Me?

Fighting back against these charges can be difficult on your own. Hiring an experienced DWI attorney can make a difference because they are ready to do everything that they possibly can to bolster your case. Your lawyer can:

  • Show that a stop was unlawful
  • Cross-examine the arresting officers
  • Get critical evidence against you thrown out
  • Help you evaluate plea offers
  • Answer any questions you have about the legal process

Remember, the burden of proof is on the prosecutor here. They need to show that you were impaired and that you were operating the vehicle at the time of the arrest. Your lawyer can help you form a defense and put these charges to rest.

Contact a Rockland County DWI Lawyer

So if you are ready to fight back against a DWI charge, contact the Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a consultation. Kevin T. Conway has been helping New Yorkers fight DWI charges for more than three decades, and he is ready to put his skills to work for you.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by