What are the Consequences of a New York Drug DWI?

Driving under the influence is wrong, under any circumstances. Unfortunately, despite knowing that, people do it anyway. While many people believe that DWIs are reserved for drunk drivers, this is hardly the case. DWIs can be issued to anyone who willfully got behind the wheel of a motor vehicle while their ability was impaired by drugs or alcohol. If you find yourself in a situation where you are charged with a DWI in New York, you must read on and hire an experienced attorney as soon as you can to learn more about your legal options going forward. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the penalties for a first-offense drug DWI in New York?

A first-offense drug DWI in New York is a misdemeanor. However, even if this is only your first offense, New York courts will not go easy on you. You may face the following penalties:

  • A fine ranging from $500-$1000
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • A suspended license for at least 6 months
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

What are the consequences of a second drug DWI offense in New York State?

If this is your second drug DWI offense, the courts will now treat you as a repeat offender, which means you will face an even more hostile court system this time around. If this is your second offense within 10 years, you are facing a class E felony that comes with the following penalties:

  • A fine ranging from $1000-$5000
  • Up to 4 years in jail
  • A 1-year license revocation
  • State surcharges and assessment fines
  • Potential mandatory participation in the Impaired Driver Program

What are the penalties for a third or subsequent drug DWI offense within 10 years?

If this is your third or subsequent drug DWI offense within 10 years, you cannot afford to wait any longer. You must hire an experienced attorney, as you are facing a class D felony. To even have a shot at obtaining a plea bargain, you must hire a seasoned attorney who knows how to aggressively combat a DWI charge. Here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • A fine ranging from $2000-$10,000
  • Possible jail time up to 7 years
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • State surcharges and assessment fees

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.