If you are caught breaking any of the rules or regulations of the road in New York State, you should hire an experienced attorney immediately. Even a simple speeding ticket may cause your insurance premiums to skyrocket, especially if you have prior violations on your record. If you have been charged with a traffic violation, here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the penalties for speeding in New York?
If you have been charged with speeding, the severity of your ticket will correspond with the speed you were going at the time you were caught. Here are the different penalties:
- 1-10 miles per hour over the speed limit is a 3 point violation
- 11-20 miles per hour over the speed limit is a 4 point violation
- 21-30 miles per hour over the speed limit is a 6 point violation
- 31-40 miles per hour over the speed limit is an 8 point violation
- Driving over 41 miles per hour over the speed limit is an 11 point violation
What are the consequences of reckless driving in New York?
If you were charged with reckless driving, you may be up against a heavy fine and court costs. You may also get 5 points added to your driver’s license, which can have a drastic impact on your premiums. You may also have to take the Driver Responsibility Assessment and pay a $100 yearly fine for 3 years.
What are the penalties for a cell phone violation in New York?
Along with a 5-point penalty, a Driver Responsibility Assesment and a 3-year $100 fine, you may also face additional fines, depending on whether or not it was your first offense.
- First offense: $50-$200, a surcharge of up to $93
- A second offense within 18 months: $50-$250, a surcharge of up to $93
- A third or subsequent offense within 18 months: $50-$450, and a surcharge of up to $93
What happens if you are caught driving without a license in New York?
If you should have known about the revocation or suspension of your license and are driving anyway, you will most likely be charged with aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle. This is a misdemeanor that comes with fines between $200-$500, and possible imprisonment for up to 30 days. Additionally, an AUO in the first degree is a class E felony, with far more serious repercussions. If you receive an AUO in the first degree, this means you were either operating a vehicle and are caught committing an AUO in the second degree while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, are caught committing an AUO in the third degree with at least 10 or more suspensions for failure to appear or pay a fine, or if you are caught committing an AUO in the third degree with a permanent revocation.
Contact our Rockland County firm
Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.