Those who are charged with the sale of marijuana in New York State are facing serious consequences. Some people are under the common misconception that because the laws regarding marijuana are leaning towards legalization but that is not the case in New York. If you are charged with selling marijuana of any amount in New York State, you will need to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who can provide you with assistance.
If you are charged with selling 25 grams or less of marijuana, you are facing a misdemeanor charge and may be subject to fines up to $1,000 and up to 1 year of incarceration. Any marijuana sales of 25 grams and up will result in a felony charge. Other penalties are as followed:
- 25 grams – 4 ounces will result in up to 4 years of incarceration and a maximum fine of $5,000
- 4.1 ounces – 1 pound will result in up to 7 years of incarceration and a maximum fine of $5,000
- 1.1 pounds and up will result in up to 15 years of incarceration and a maximum fine of $15,000
If you were charged with using a child to assist you in selling marijuana, you will also be facing a felony charge, 4 years of incarceration, and a fine of up to $5,000. If you were charged with selling marijuana to a minor, you are facing a felony, 7 years of incarceration, and a $5,000 fine.
Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.