close search ×

Which guns can I own in New Jersey?

Owning a gun is a right that individuals are able to have. However, they must go through background checks and have information considered before they do so. It is important that they are reviewed because they could own a potentially dangerous weapon. The state of New Jersey allows residents to own a handgun. There are procedures that need to be followed first. Then an individual may be approved to own a handgun. They must have a permit for this firearm though. Without a permit, individuals can face consequences. Permits are needed to regulate the sale of guns and to monitor who owns them. When individuals want to purchase a handgun, their permit to purchase a handgun is only valid for 90 days. Guns must also be purchased from a licensed dealer or a resident of the state. Handgun transfers are held by the New Jersey State Firearms Investigation Unit with some exceptions. These exceptions include firearms willed to a transferee and those brought into the state by new residents of the state. In the state, individuals are also allowed to own a long gun. This may require different guidelines to follow since it is a different gun. For long guns, the permits are different. When someone wants to purchase a long gun, such as a rifle or shotgun, they must possess a lifetime purchaser identification card.

What are the penalties for violating gun laws?

Individuals charged with violating gun laws can face harsh consequences since these are indictable offenses. This means that they are equal to felonies in other states. Individuals that are charged with gun offenses can face the potential of imprisonment. Illegal possession of a machine gun or handgun is a second-degree crime, which can lead to a jail sentence of five to 10 years. Illegal possession of an assault rifle is a second-degree crime. Illegal possession of a rifle or shotgun is a third-degree crime. Illegal possession of an air gun, spring gun or weapon of a similar nature is a third-degree crime. Third-degree crimes can lead to a jail sentence of three to five years. These penalties can cause life-changing consequences for people.

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by