close search ×
alcohol black background bottle 1536900 e1663249137557

Police Officers Will be Looking for Drunk Drivers This Thanksgiving Weekend

Thanksgiving weekend a time where we eat, drink and be merry. There is nothing wrong with celebrating all we have to be thankful for with our friends and family. However, Thanksgiving weekend, as you know, is notorious for police checkpoints, so if you drink, ensure you have a place to stay, or at least a sober friend or family member who can safely drive you home. If you are charged with a DWI this Thanksgiving weekend, you will need an experienced attorney at your side who is ready to tenaciously fight for your rights. Please read on to learn more about the penalties you may face for a DWI in New York:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DWI in New York?

If this is your first offense, you may be facing very severe penalties, ranging from losing your license to even spending some time in jail. If convicted, you may face the following consequences:

  • 6-month license revocation
  • Up to $1000 in fines
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Potential enrollment in the DDP, as well as all applicable costs

Will I lose my license if I am charged with a DWI as a minor?

Though many think that minors will simply receive a “slap on the wrist” for DWI charges, just the opposite is true. New York has Zero-Tolerance laws in effect, which means if convicted, you may face the following harsh penalties:

  • A 6-month license suspension
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP)
  • Potential installation of the ignition interlock device at your own cost
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • $125 civil penalty

What are the penalties for a second DWI conviction in New York State?

The penalties for a second DWI in New York State are as follows:

  • License revocation of one year
  • Up to $5000 in fines
  • Up to 4 years of jail time
  • Up to 5 years of probation

What happens if I get three or more DWIs in New York?

If this is your third or subsequent offense, your future as a free person is on the line. Not only may you face serious jail time, but you will also risk losing your license for life. Here are some of the penalties you may face for a third or subsequent DWI in New York:

  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • Fines ranging between $2000-$10,000
  • A 10-year license revocation, though you may face a lifetime revocation
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by