close search ×
breathalyser 1684431_1920 e1665498073908

Labor Day DWIs in New York State

There are few things more damaging than receiving a DWI in New York State. Unfortunately, this Labor Day, if you are charged with a DWI, you face a wide array of potential penalties. Please continue reading and reach out to our knowledgeable Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn more about the penalties you may face and how we can assist you in fighting those penalties. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I am charged with a DWI in New York State for the first time?

If you are currently facing a first offense DUI, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • A $1,000 fine
  • Up to one year of incarceration
  • A 6-month license suspension
  • Enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)

What happens if I get a DWI as a minor in NY?

For a DWI as a minor in New York State, meaning you are under the age of 21, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • At least a 6-month license suspension
  • A $125 civil penalty and a $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • You may have to use the Ignition Interlock Device, which makes it so you cannot start your car without blowing into the device.

Second-offense DWI Penalties:

If you are caught driving under the influence for a second time in New York, your future is largely in jeopardy. There are various potential consequences for a second-offense DWI in NYS, and they are as follows:

  • You may receive a 1-year license suspension, if not longer
  • Enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • A potential $5,000 fine
  • You risk up to 4 years of incarceration

Third-offense DWI Consequences:

If you are currently facing a third or subsequent DWI in New York State, it is needless to say that you have a lot at stake. Our firm can help you fight the following consequences:

  • Facing anywhere up to seven years of incarceration
  • A lost license for many years
  • Up to a $10,000 in fines
  • Additional state surcharges

Our Rockland County criminal defense attorney has helped countless individuals fight DWI charges through the years, and we know that our firm has what it takes to do the same for you, too. Pick up the phone and give us a call to learn more about how we can assist you through every step of the legal process ahead.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by