close search ×

Drug Schedules Under the CSA

The Controlled Substances Act is the federal guidelines on drug policy in the United States. One of the ways that drugs are classified in the Controlled Substances Act is by schedules. There are several factors that dictate which drug belongs in which schedule. The classifications are as follows:

  • Schedule I- the most dangerous category because the drug has a high potential for abuse, has no currently accepted use for medical treatment in the United States and it is unsafe for use. Includes:
    • Heroin
    • Codeine
    • Marijuana
    • Peyote
  • Schedule II- the drug also has a high potential for abuse but unlike Schedule I drugs, it does have an accepted use in medical treatment. Abuse of schedule II substances may lead to severe addiction. Includes:
    • Any derivative or preparation of opium
    • Methadone
    • Fentanyl
    • Cocaine
  • Schedule III- Less potential for abuse than schedules I and II but still moderate to low levels of addiction. The substance does have an accepted medical use for treatment in the United States. Includes:
    • Amphetamine
    • Methamphetamine
    • Anabolic Steroids
  • Schedule IV- these drugs have a low potential for abuse in comparison with the others and are currently accepted for medical use. Includes:
    • Barbital
    • Chloral hydrate
    • Phenobarbital

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by