What You Need to Know About the Marijuana Laws in New York State

In recent times, New York State has modified its marijuana possession laws, decreasing the criminal penalties for possessing the drug. That being said, though certain low-level possession offenses are now decriminalized, there are still a wide array of penalties you may face for higher-quantity possession charges and for the illegal sale of marijuana. Please continue reading and speak with our knowledgeable Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn more about the marijuana laws in New York State and how our firm can help if you’ve been charged with violating them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the marijuana possession laws in New York State?

Those who’ve been charged with marijuana possession in New York will most likely face the following penalties:

  • 28 grams or less: A violation that entails a $50 fine
  • Between 28 grams-2 ounces: A violation that entails a $200 fine
  • More than 2 ounces, but less than 8 ounces: A misdemeanor that entails up to 1 year of incarceration and a potential $1,000 fine
  • More than 8 ounces, but less than 1 pound: A felony charge that entails up to 4 years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine
  • Between 1-10 pounds: A felony that entails up to 7 years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine
  • More than 10 pounds: A felony that entails up to 15 years of incarceration and a potential $15,000 fine

What are the penalties for selling marijuana in New York?

Those who’ve been allegedly caught selling marijuana in New York will face the following penalties:

  • 2 grams or less without profit or 1 marihuana cigarette: A misdemeanor that entails up to 3 months in jail and a potential $500 fine
  • 25 grams or less: A misdemeanor that entails up to 1 year of incarceration and a potential $1,000 fin
  • Between 25 grams and 4 ounces: A felony that entails up to four years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine
  • Between 4 ounces and 1 pound: A felony that entails up to 7 years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine
  • More than 1 pound: A felony that entails up to 15 years of incarceration and a potential $15,000 fine
  • Using a child to assist in the sale of marijuana: A felony that entails up to 4 years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine
  • Selling marijuana to a minor: A felony that entails up to 7 years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine

If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to speak with our New York criminal defense attorney today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer,ย contact our Spring Valley officeย for a free consultation.