DWI charges in New York State are incredibly serious, and in most cases, when someone is convicted of a DWI, it can impact their life for years to come. That being said, if you were charged with an aggravated DWI, meaning you were caught with a blood alcohol content of .18% or higher, you will most likely face far harsher penalties than a standard DWI, even if this is only your first one. Please continue reading and speak with our Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn more. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I am charged with a first-offense aggravated DWI in NY?
For a first-offense aggravated DWI in New York State, you can expect far more than a “slap on the wrist.” You will most likely face the following penalties:
- Up to one year in jail
- A potential $2,500 fine
- A potential 1-year license revocation
- Additional surcharges and assessment cost
That being said, in certain cases, our firm can work to enroll you in the Impaired Drinking Driver Program to help you receive a conditional driver’s license.
Will I go to jail for a second aggravated DWI in New York State?
A second aggravated DWI in New York within 10 years is a Class E felony, for which you will face far harsher felonies than a first-offense aggravated DWI. Some of the penalties you may face for a second aggravated DWI in New York State are as follows:
- A potential 18-month license revocation
- Up to four years of incarceration
- A potential $5,000 fine, as well as additional surcharges
- Enrollment in the IDP at your own cost–if you fail to do so, it may be determined that you violated your probation, which can lead to additional penalties.
Will I lose my driver’s license forever for a third aggravated DWI?
If you are charged with a third aggravated DWI within 10 years of the first in New York, you will most likely face the following penalties:
- At least an 18-month license revocation
- A potential $10,000 fines
- Up to 7 years in jail
- Additional surcharges
- Enrollment in the IDP at your own cost
The bottom line is that no matter whether this is your first, second, or third aggravated DWI, you cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of a knowledgeable New York criminal defense attorney.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM
Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.