What Happens if I am Charged With an Aggravated DWI in New York?

Driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol, obviously, is both reckless and unsafe. However, we all make mistakes, and if you are facing a DWI charge in New York State, you face serious, potentially life-altering ramifications. Additionally, if you are charged with an aggravated DWI, meaning you had a blood alcohol content of .18% or higher at the time of your arrest, you face even harsher penalties that may warrant a far longer suspensation of your license, as well as higher fines. If you are someone who has recently been charged with an aggravated DWI, please read on and reach out to our experienced New York aggravated DWI attorney about the legal process going forward. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the penalties for a first-offense aggravated DWI in New York?

Do not think that you won’t face serious consequences because it is only your first charge. For a first-offense aggravated DWI, you may face the following:

  • Fines of up to $2,500
  • Up to one year of incarceration
  • Surcharges and assessment costs
  • A revoked license for at least one year

What happens if I am convicted of a second aggravated DWI in New York?

For a second aggravated DWI, you will now be treated as a repeat offender, and will be charged with a Class E felony. This comes along with potential time in jail, as well as various hefty fines. Here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • Up to four years of incarceration
  • Surcharges and assessment costs
  • At least an 18-month revocation of your license
  • Potential enrollment in the Impaired Driver Program at your own cost

Will I lose my license forever for a third or subsequent aggravated DWI in New York?

If this is your third or subsequent aggravated DWI in New York State, there is a very good chance you may lose your license forever, or at least for years down the line. This is unacceptable. Here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • Up to seven years of incarceration
  • Surcharges and assessment costs
  • At least an 18-month license revocation
  • Potential enrollment in the Impaired Driver Program at your own cost

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.