What Happens if I am Arrested for Driving While Under the Influence of Drugs in New York?

When most people think of driving under the influence, they imagine someone driving while intoxicated with alcohol. However, New York State also has a special charge specifically for those who have been arrested for driving while under the influence of drugs. A drug DWI charge, formally known as DWAI (Drug), or driving while ability impaired by drugs. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney today to learn more about these charges and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I am caught driving under the influence of drugs in New York?

If you are caught driving under the influence of drugs, even if it is only your first offense, you will face misdemeanor charges, which can land you in serious trouble. The consequences of driving under the influence of drugs in New York are as follows:

  • You may spend up to one year in jail.
  • You will most likely lose your license for six months.
  • You will have to pay a fine ranging from $500-$1000, as well as additional state surcharges and assessment fines.

What happens if I get a second-offense drug DWI in New York?

For a second drug DWI in New York State, you are looking at a Class E Felony, which is a serious crime. The consequences of a second drug DWI within 10 years are as follows:

  • You may spend up to 4 years in jail.
  • You will have your license revoked for one year.
  • You may have to enroll in the IDP.
  • A fine between $1000-$5000, as well as additional state surcharges and fines.

Will I go to jail for a third or subsequent drug DWI offense within 10 years?

For a third drug DWI offense within 10 years, you will face a Class D Felony, which will most likely follow you for the rest of your life, even after you’ve carried out your prison sentence. The penalties for a third or subsequent drug DWI offense in New York State are as follows:

  • Up to seven years in jail.
  • You will lose your license for at least one year.
  • Up to a $10,000 fine, as well as state surcharges and assessment fees.

For any additional questions, please do not hesitate to give our knowledgeable New York criminal defense attorney a call today. Our firm is here to help.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer,ย contact our Spring Valley officeย for a free consultation.