Now more than ever people seem to be attached to their cell phones. One of the biggest issues that law enforcement has spent years trying to combat is drivers who use their cell phones while driving. Texting and driving has proven to be even more dangerous than driving while intoxicated, not that you should do either of these things because they are both quite dangerous. Since the introduction of cell phones, the number of injuries and car accidents has risen greatly. New York State has put legislation in place to discourage drivers from using their cell phones behind the wheel.
Any use of a cell phone, tablet, or other hand-held mobile device while driving is illegal in New York. This includes phone calls, texts, emails, games, taking pictures, or any other action that may require you to use your phone for something other than dialing an emergency personnel number while you drive. For a first offense violation, you will be required to pay a fine between $50 and $200, pay a surcharge up to $93, and are facing 5 points on your driver’s license. Accruing points on your driver’s license can lead to increased insurance premiums. Second offenders within 18 months are subject to a fine of up to $250, as well as the additional surcharge and points. Third or subsequent offenders are subject to a fine of up to $450, the same surcharge, and also 5 points on your license. In New York State, if you obtain 11 points on your license within 18 months, your license will likely be suspended.
If you are facing texting violations in New York, you will want to speak with an experienced traffic defense attorney who can work towards fighting these fines and keeping points off your license.
Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.