When individuals in New York are given a license, they are expected to follow the rules of the road and not violate them. This ensures their own safety as well as that of other drivers on the road. When drivers violate traffic laws, they can be charged by law enforcement with a traffic violation. These violations come with certain consequences depending on the type of violation that is received. These consequences can range from fines to points on your license, as well as a license suspension, and even the possibility of jail time.
Types of Violations
When a driver gets behind the wheel of a vehicle, they are expected to abide by traffic laws. There are many ways a driver may violate these laws. Violations may include, but are not limited to:
- Cell phone violations
- Reckless driving
- Failure to yield
- Driving without a license
- Ignoring traffic signs/signals
- Causing an accident that results in injury
New York law enforcement and courts are strict about enforcing the speed limit. Certain consequences have the potential to gravely impact a driver’s record. Receiving a speeding ticket may result in “points” on your license. The points go on a driver’s license for 18 months unless they are issued another ticket before that time passed. Penalties of speeding may depend on the speed the driver was going over the limit. The speeding point system is in New York is as follows:
- 3 points for driving 1-10 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 11-20 miles over the speed limit
- 6 points for driving 21-30 miles over the speed limit
- 8 points for driving 31-40 miles over the speed limit
- 11 points for driving 41 miles or more over the speed limit
Drivers who receive 11 points on their license with the 18-month period may have their license suspended.
Driving recklessly puts the driver of the vehicle in danger in addition to all the other drivers on the road. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor that results in certain penalties. For a first time reckless driving charge, you may receive 5 points on your license on top of court costs and an increased insurance premium. Depending on any previous points on your license, you may be subject to the Driver Responsibility Assessment, which requires $100 a year for 3 years. It is important to note that reckless driving penalties can increase if a driver has been charged with the violation before.
Cell Phone Violations
New York was the first state to ban the use of cell phones or other electronic devices while driving. If a driver is found violating that law, they may be issued 5 points on their license. This violation may also require a series of fines:
- $50-200 for a first offense
- $50-$250 for a second offense within 18 months
- $50-$450 for a third (or more) offense within 18 months
Driving with a Suspended License
When a license is suspended, a driver is not allowed to get behind the wheel of a vehicle. If they are on the road without a license, the driver may face fines from $75 to $300. They may also face jail time up to 15 days. In the event of aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle, an individual may face fines between $200 and $500 with the possibility of up to 30 days in jail.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know has been issued a traffic violation ticket and wish to speak to an attorney, contact theLaw Office of Kevin T. Conway today.
Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.