Charged With a DWI in NY This Halloween? Here is What You Need to Know.

Many people celebrate Halloween by attending parties, such as costume parties. Oftentimes, these parties involve the consumption of alcohol. Of course, this is completely fine, however, if you are someone who made the unfortunate decision to drive after having one or more drinks this Halloween, there is a very good chance that you are now looking at various penalties that may affect your life for years to come. Fortunately, our Rockland County criminal defense attorney is here to help. Please read on and reach out to our firm to learn more about the various consequences you may face for DWI charges in New York and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DWI in NY?

Even if this is only your first offense DUI, you will still face very serious penalties, including the following:

  • A potential $1,000 fine
  • You may go to jail for one year
  • You may lose your license for up to six months
  • You will most likely have to enroll in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)

What happens if I get a DWI under the age of 21?

For an underage DWI in New York State, you are looking at the following consequences:

  • You will most likely lose your license for more than 6 months, in many cases, you may lose your license until you turn 21 years old
  • You will face a $125 civil penalty and a $100 fee for suspension termination
  • You will most likely have to enroll in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • You may have to install and use the ignition interlock device at your own cost.

Will I go to jail for a second DWI in New York State?

For a second DWI offense, there is a very good chance that you may go to jail. In fact, you may even spend up to four years in jail, on top of the following additional penalties:

  • You may lose your license for at least one year
  • You will have to enroll in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • You may have to pay a $5,000 fine

What happens if I get a third DWI in NY?

For a third or subsequent DWI in New York State, you are looking at the following penalties:

  • You may spend up to seven years in jail
  • Years without your license
  • A potential $10,000 fine, on top of additional state surcharges

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.