close search ×

What You Should Know About Underage DUI in New York

Children will be children. They tend to think they are invincible and that nothing can hurt them. However, the state of New York does not feel the same way, especially in regards to a minor driving while intoxicated. If you or your child needs help preparing for an upcoming case, please read on, then contact an experienced Spring Valley DWI defense attorney to learn what you should know about underage DUI in New York.

What you should know about underage DUI in New York

You should know that in New York an underage individual caught driving while intoxicated will likely face more severe punishment than someone of age. When police pull over an underage individual for driving with a blood alcohol content of .02% or higher, they may face the following penalties:

  • Ignition interlock device installation and associated costs
  • Enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program and associated costs
  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $125 civil penalty
  • $100 fee for suspension termination.

If you, as an underage individual, refuse to submit to a chemical test, your penalties may be further compounded in the following ways:

  • Revoked license for at least a year
  • $300 civil penalty
  • $250 annual assessment fine for 3 years
  • $100 fee to reinstate your license

How long does an underage DUI stay on your record in New York?

Your record will show accidents and most traffic convictions during the year they occurred and up to three additional years. A conviction for driving under the influence will stay on your driver’s abstract for 15 years from the date it occurred and a DWAI conviction will stay on your record for 10 years from the date of conviction.

How can a Rockland County defense attorney fight your charges?

Reaching out to a skilled Rockland County criminal defense attorney is an important first step. The potential defenses against DWI charges that your attorney will explore on your behalf include arguing that the law enforcement stop was unlawful and that the authorities improperly administered a Field Sobriety Test. If the officer failed to demonstrate the test, failed to explain all the instructions, failed to inform you that you were allowed to remove high heels during the test or you have a health issue that prevents you from being able to take a breath test, that can all be used in your defense. Fighting for you and your future will be an uphill battle. Let a qualified legal representative do it for you. Call us today.


Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by