close search ×

What You Should Know About Cell Phone Violations in New York

We probably do not want to admit it, but roughly 80 percent of us have used our cell phones while driving. More than an embarrassment, getting caught by police can result in hefty fines. If you have received tickets for talking or texting while driving, please read on, then contact a skilled Spring Valley cell phone violation lawyer to learn what you should know about cell phone violations in New York.

What you should know about cell phone violations in New York

In New York, the penalties for cell phone violations will depend on the number of times, if any, you have previously committed this offense. The penalties are as follows:

First offense:

  • $50 to $200 fine
  • 5 points on your license

Second offense:

  • $50 to $200 fine
  • 5 points on your license

Third offense:

  • $50 to $400 fine
  • 5 points on your license

Keep in mind that receiving 11 points in an 18 month period may result in a license suspension.

Is it worth going to court for a cell phone ticket in New York?

Between fines, surcharges, and insurance increases, a conviction for a cell phone or texting ticket in New York can cost hundreds and even thousands of dollars. That’s why hiring a lawyer to get the ticket reduced or dismissed will undoubtedly save you money.

How can a Spring Valley cell phone violation attorney help you?

The easiest way to fight a New York cell phone ticket is to prove that your vehicle was not moving at the time the violation occurred. If your vehicle was not moving, your use of an electronic device does not fall under the umbrella of the state’s cell phone law. To do this, you should reach out to a skilled Spring Valley traffic violation attorney who will accompany you to court and argue your case before a judge. He or she can also draft a letter declaring your innocence. If nothing else, a qualified legal representative can help you negotiate with the prosecutor to reduce the charges. None of this will be easy, because the courts will not simply take your word. Furthermore, should you fail, these violations will stay on your record until January 1 of the fourth year following the date of your conviction. The five points will count for 18 months from the date of the violation. And, in most cases, insurance companies will raise your rate for driving while using a cell phone. Do not go it alone. Call us today.


Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by