close search ×
hammer 802298_1920 1

What to Know About Theft Crimes in New York

Theft crimes in New York are not taken lightly. To learn the definitions and penalties for robbery and burglary in New York, continue reading. For assistance with theft charges, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced New York criminal defense attorney. Our legal team is prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, give our firm a call today.

What is the definition of robbery in New York State?

New York State defines robbery as forcible stealing. In the act of committing a larceny, if an individual uses physical force or threatens to use physical force upon another person to take their property, this is considered forcibly stealing property and committing robbery.

What are the penalties for committing a robbery in New York?

Robbery has varying degrees that will come with several potential penalties in New York. The varying degrees and their penalties are as follows:

  • Third Degree: Class D felony, 2-7 years in prison
  • Second Degree: Class C felony, 7-15 years in prison
  • First Degree: Class B felony, 10-25 years in prison

These heavy prison sentences may also come with either a $5,000 fee or a fee worth double the amount of financial gain from the robbery.

What is the definition of burglary according to New York law?

Burglary in New York is defined as unlawfully entering or remaining on a property with the specific intent to commit a crime within a building.

What are the penalties for committing a burglary in New York?

Those who have been convicted of burglary charges will face harsh penalties in New York. It is important that you retain the services of an experienced attorney if you are facing burglary charges. The following are the consequences of a burglary charge in the state of New York:

  • Third-degree burglary: Class D felony, 1-7 years in prison, $5,000 fine
  • Second-degree burglary: Class C felony, 1-15 years in prison, $5,000 fine
  • First-degree Burglary: Class B felony, 1-25 years in prison, $5,000 fine

If you are facing any of the above consequences, it is crucial that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney show will fight for your rights in court. To learn more about how we can assist you, give our firm a call today to schedule your initial consultation.


Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by