close search ×

What are the Penalties for a Third or Subsequent Offense for DWI in Rockland County?

In New York, if you’re a third offender, it’s a felony offense. You will be treated as a predicate felon. You would be subject to a lengthy state prison sentence. You may lose your license for a 5-year period, 10-year period, or a lifetime ban.

The laws have been changed recently in New York State by Governor Cuomo where the administrative agency at the Department of Motor Vehicles has now the right to look at a person’s total driving abstract and determine whether you’re going to have a 5 to 10 year or even lifetime ban as a persistent violator, irrespective of what happens in the criminal court.

The criminal court judge can impose sanctions of jail, loss of license, or probation. There are various things that the judge can do while the DMV can also impose their own separate level of suspension that’s not affected by the judge. It is imperative that you contact an attorney immediately.

The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway many years of experience fighting criminal charges for Rockland County clients. Some of the criminal matters we handle include DWIs, drug offenses, violent crimes, sex crimes, gun crimes, and juvenile matters. If you need a consultation, contact our Spring Valley firm.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by