close search ×
man drinking while driving

Thanksgiving Weekend DWIs in NYS | What You Need to Know

As you know Thanksgiving Weekend is among the most dangerous weekends to be on the road, in large part due to the number of drivers who are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. That being said, if you are someone who was charged with a Thanksgiving Weekend DWI in New York State, you must continue reading and speak with our experienced New York State criminal defense attorney to learn more about the consequences of DWIs in New York and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I get a DWI for the first time in New York State?

The first thing that you should understand is that even if this is only your first DWI in New York, you will face a wide array of consequences that can impact your life for years to come, including:

  • You will face a 6-month license suspension
  • You may have to pay a $1,00 fine, as well as additional surcharges
  • You may face up to one year of jailtime
  • Mandatory enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)

How long will I lose my license if I get a DWI in New York while under the age of 21?

New York State strictly deals with minors who drive while under the influence of alcohol. The consequences are as follows:

  • At least a 6-month loss of license, though you may lose your license until you turn 21.
  • Mandatory enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Potential installation of the ignition interlock device

What happens if this is my second DWI? Will I go to jail?

For a second DWI offense, you risk up to four years of jail time on top of a 1-year loss of license, mandatory enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program, and a $5,000 fine, on top of additional yearly surcharges.

Will I lose my license forever if this is my third DWI in New York State?

If this is your third or subsequent DWI in New York State, you may very well lose your license forever. Additionally, you may spend up to seven years in jail and have to pay a $10,000 fine, in addition to state surcharges. The bottom line is that no matter whether this is your first, third, or subsequent DWI, you must retain the services of an experienced attorney who can fight your charges to help ensure you go on living a free, productive life.


Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by