close search ×

Police Will be Looking for Drunk Drivers This Halloween

Halloween is one of the most fun times of the year. Even when we outgrow trick-or-treating, many of us still celebrate the holiday by dressing up, attending costume parties, and more. However, while Halloween is meant to be enjoyed, you must ensure that you do so safely. Police will be patrolling the streets and doing checkpoints to catch drunk drivers. Do not be one of them. A DWI conviction can change your life forever. If you have been charged with a DWI in New York State, please read on to learn more about what you are up against.

What are the penalties for a DWI under the age of 21 in New York State?

DWIs are incredibly serious charges. Even if this is your first DWI, you may face severe penalties, especially if you are a minor under the age of 21. The consequences you may face are as follows:

  • A 6-month license suspension
  • A $100 fee for suspension termination
  • A $125 civil penalty
  • You may have to enroll in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and pay all associated costs
  • You may have to install and use an ignition interlock device and pay all associated costs

What are the penalties for a first-time DWI offense over the age of 21?

Those over the age of 21 will still be fiercely prosecuted in court. The penalties for first-time DWI offenders are as follows:

  • A 6-month license revocation
  • Fines between $500-$1000
  • Up to 1 year of incarceration
  • Potentially enroll in the DDP and pay applicable costs

What happens if I get a second DWI in New York?

This is a class E felony, and the courts will now treat you as a repeat offender. You may face the following penalties:

  • 1-year license revocation
  • A fine of up to $5000
  • Up to 4 years of incarceration
  • Probationary sentence of up to 5 years

What are the penalties for a third or subsequent DWI offense?

If this is your third or subsequent offense, you cannot afford to wait. Speak with our firm to see how we can help prevent this ticket from affecting the rest of your life. You may face the following for a third or subsequent offense:

  • Up to 7 years of incarceration
  • Potential fines between $2000-$10,000
  • A license revocation
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by