close search ×

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident In New York

Leaving the scene of an accident in New York carries various potential consequences. To learn more about these penalties, continue reading, and contact our Rockland County criminal defense attorney.

Can I be charged for leaving the scene of an accident?

It is considered a serious violation in New York to leave the scene of an accident involving property damage or personal injury. You are required to stop your vehicle and exchange insurance information with the other party after an accident. If the police are called to the scene, it is necessary for both parties to wait for them to arrive.

There may be serious legal repercussions for leaving the scene of an accident and failing to exchange insurance information. There may be legal consequences if you do not wait for the police to arrive after an accident. These consequences are connected to traditional hit-and-run accidents or striking an unoccupied vehicle in a parking lot. To provide your insurance information in a parking lot accident, you must work to locate the owners or put your insurance information on the vehicle for the other driver to find. Even if minor damage is done, you should exchange information.

No matter the circumstances of your accident, you must notify the police. They will tell you if they will come to the scene of the accident to conduct a report or if you are able to leave.

What are the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in New York?

Drivers who leave the scene of an accident may face the following consequences in the state of New York:

  • 3 points on the driver’s license
  • Facing criminal charges and a criminal record for leaving the accident involving personal injury
  • Accidents involved injuries can cause a driver to lose their license for up to a year
  • If property damage has occurred, drivers may face fines up to $250
  • Up to 15 days in jail for accidents involving property damage
  • Increased insurance rates for a conviction
  • If a personal injury has occurred, divers may face fines up to $5,000
  • A surcharge of $88 to $93
  • CDL drivers who leave the scene of an accident may automatically lose their license for a year even without injuries being involved


Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by