close search ×

NYS Police to Crack Down on Drunk Drivers This Labor Day

This Labor Day, people will travel all over the country to visit their loved ones and enjoy the last bit of summer we have. Labor Day means barbecues, pool parties, and lots of good times to be had. However, we must all conduct ourselves responsibly. Though it is important you have fun, it is even more important you stay safe, and one of the most prominent ways you can do so is driving responsibly. The roads will be packed with aggressive drivers, distracted drivers, and those who are driving under the influence. The latter is something everyone knows is wrong, though unfortunately, so many people do it anyway. However, just because you were caught, realized you made a mistake and vowed to never do it again, you may still face several legal troubles in the months or years to come. This is why it is so important you hire an experienced attorney who is ready to fight for your rights. If you have been issued a DWI ticket, here are some of the questions you may have?

What are the consequences of a first offense DWI in New York State?

  • 6-month license revocation
  • Possible fines ranging from $500-$1000
  • Up to 1 year of jail time
  • Potential enrollment in the DDP and applicable costs

However, you should note that if you are older than 21 and refused to take a chemical test, you may face a 1-year license revocation (or 18 months for commercial drivers) and have to pay a $500 civil penalty ($550 for commercial drivers).

What are the consequences of a second DWI in New York State?

A second DWI within 10 years is a class E felony. This means that if the grand jury returns an indictment against you, the case is transferred from the justice court to the county court. If found guilty, you may face:

  • 1 year of a revoked license
  • A fine of up to $5000
  • A state or a local prison sentence not to exceed 4 years
  • Probationary sentence of up to 5 years

What are the consequences of a third or subsequent DWI in New York State?

If this is your third offense, your ticket will most likely impact the rest of your life. Some of the consequences you may face for a third or subsequent DWI are as follows:

  • Up to 7 years in prison
  • Potential fines between $2000-$10,000
  • A license revocation
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by