close search ×

Memorial Day DWIs in New York

Unfortunately, Memorial Day does not only bring hamburgers and hotdogs but the increase of DUIs in the state of New York. It is important to understand that New York does not take driving under the influence lightly and courts are known to be hostile when charging individuals who have gotten behind the wheel while intoxicated. This Memorial Day, remind yourself of the penalties for driving under the influence and keep yourself and those you share the road with safe this holiday. Continue reading to discover the consequences and descriptions of first, second, third, drugged, and high BAC DWIs. Contact our experienced criminal defense attorney if you are facing life-altering charges.

First DWI

A first offense DWI is a misdemeanor. If a DWI charge is found guilty in New York, you could have a criminal record.

Second DWIs

Repeat offenders of DWIs often face hostile courts that are likely not to lessen charges. Individuals are considered repeat offenders if they are over the age of 21 and have been documented with a BAC of .08%. Individuals are also considered repeat offenders if the individual is under 21 years of age and has been documented with a .02% BAC. Another instance that would make an individual a repeat offended is if the driver was operating a commercial vehicle and documented with a BAC of .04% for a second or subsequent time within 10 years of the first conviction.

Third DWIs

Third DWI offenses often face devastating charges that will directly impact the individual’s life and livelihood. As an attempt to keep intoxicated drivers off the road, New York courts are aggressive with repeat offenders. You will face severe penalties if you have been convicted of a subsequent DWI ticket.

Drugged DWI

You will face both DWI charges and drug charges if you are convicted of a drugged DWI. A drug DWI is considered a DWAI-Drug or driving while impaired by drugs in New York.


If you have been pulled over driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.18% or higher, it is possible to be charged with aggravated driving while intoxicated or A- DWI. You may be charged with aggravated driving while intoxicated (A- DWI). New York state does not take aggravated DWIs lightly and will be hostile in charging individuals with such. Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in New York.


Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by