close search ×
alcohol black background bottle 1536900 e1663249137557

Major Crackdown on Underage Sale of Liquor in New York State

Underage drinking has been a problem for as long as we can remember. All forms of alcohol abuse are problematic, however, underage alcohol abuse affects a minor’s brain development, his or her ability to make rational decisions, and can therefore also affect those around them as a result. For example, if a minor is under the influence of alcohol, he or she may not have the sense to not get behind the wheel of a car. This, very obviously, can lead to disaster. As a response to the underage use and sale of alcohol in New York, the SLA, DMV and law enforcement are now conducting a statewide enforcement campaign.

Since this summer, over 400 tickets were issued to those who sold alcohol to minors, including venues like the Jones Beach Theater, the Saratoga Performing Arts Center, and more. While those selling alcohol should ensure they are not selling to someone underage, the unfortunate reality is that we live in a world where fake ID’s are sometimes incredibly convincing. This is why if you are accused of selling alcohol to a minor who you genuinely believed was of age, you must hire an experienced attorney as soon as you can.

Of the sweeping effort, State Liquor Authority Chairman Vincent Bradley said, “The State Liquor Authority takes our responsibility of making sure licensees are following the law very seriously. These crackdowns under Governor Cuomo send a message that enabling underage drinking, whether through sale of alcohol to minors or purchasing fake IDs, will not be tolerated in New York State.”

If you are a business charged by the State Liquor Authority for the underage sale of alcohol, you will face a civil penalty of up to $10,000 per violation. If this is your second or subsequent offense, you face a potential suspension or revocation of your liquor license. If you are caught in the act of selling to a minor, you may also be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor. If you find yourself in this situation, you cannot wait. Hire a seasoned attorney who can aggressively fight these charges on your behalf.

It is also worth noting that if you were found using a fake ID under the age of 21 to buy alcohol, you may be ticketed and have your license suspended or revoked anywhere from 90 days to 1 year.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by