If you have been charged with an aggravated DWI in the Empire State, it means that law enforcement caught you operating your vehicle with a blood alcohol content higher than 0.18%, which is more than twice the legal limit of 0.08%. For this crime, you will face even harsher penalties than those that come with standard DWIs. If you are facing charges of driving while intoxicated, please read on, then contact an experienced Spring Valley DWI defense attorney to learn what you should know about an aggravated DWI in New York.
What happens if you are convicted of an aggravated DWI in the state of New York?
The penalties for an aggravated DWI are set forth in The New York Vehicle and Traffic Code Section 1993. Depending on how many times, if any, you have previously been convicted of this or similar offenses, the penalties will vary. They are as follows:
First offense aggravated DWI:
- A fine of up to $2,500
- A jail sentence of up to 1 year
- A suspension of your driver’s license for up to 1 year
Second offense aggravated DWI (within 10 years):
- A fine of up to $5,000
- A prison sentence of up to 4 years
- A suspension of your driver’s license for up to 18 months
Third offense aggravated DWI (within 10 years):
- A fine of up to $10,000
- A prison sentence of up to 7 years
- A suspension of your driver’s license for at least 18 months
No matter how many times you have sustained convictions for an aggravated DWI or related charges, you should reach out to a skilled Rockland County criminal defense attorney to discuss what your next steps should be.
What can a New York DWI defense attorney do for you?
Those who are facing criminal charges of DWI or DUI should do themselves a huge favor and hire a qualified criminal defense attorney from our firm. He or she will present and explain your options so that you can make informed decisions as to how you would like to proceed. You might not be aware that if police stopped you illegally, improperly conducted a field sobriety test or failed to adhere to proper procedure, your charges may be subject to reduction or dismissal. However, you should not expect the authorities to admit to their mistakes and do so without a court battle. Let us handle the legal work by giving us a call today.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM
Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.