What Happens if I am Charged With Marijuana Possession in New York?

There are few things worse than obtaining a criminal record, and if you are someone who has recently been charged with the possession or sale of marijuana in New York State, you are at risk of obtaining one. Please continue reading and speak with our experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorneys to learn more about marijuana-related charges and how we can help if you are facing them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of marijuana possession in New York?

If you are someone who has recently been charged with marijuana possession in New York State, you are most likely looking at the following penalties:

  • 28 grams or less: This is a violation that comes with a $50 fine
  • Between 28 grams-2 ounces: This is a violation that comes with a $200 fine
  • More than 2-8 ounces: This is a misdemeanor that comes with up to 1 year in jail, as well as a $1,000 fine
  • More than 8 ounces-1 pound: This is a felony charge that comes with up to 4 years in jail, as well as a $5,000 fine
  • Between than 1-10 pounds: This is a felony that comes with 7 years in jail, as well as a $5,000 fine
  • More than 10 pounds: This is a felony that comes with up to 15 years in jail, as well as a $15,000 fine

What happens if I am charged with selling marijuana in New York State

If you are someone who is currently being charged with the sale of marijuana in New York State, especially in larger quantities, there is a very good chance that you will face very serious consequences, including the following:

  • 2 grams or less without profit or 1 marihuana cigarette: This is a misdemeanor that comes with up to 3 months jail time as well as a $500 fine
  • 25 grams or less: This is a misdemeanor that comes with up to 1 year jail time, as well as a $1,000 fine
  • More than 25 grams-4 ounces: This is a felony that comes with up to 4 years jail time, as well as a $5,000 fine
  • More than 4 ounces-1 pound: This is a felony that comes with 7 years jail time and a $5,000 fine
  • More than 1 pound: This is a felony that comes with up to 15 years of jail time, as well as a $15,000 fine
  • Using a child to assist in the sale of marijuana: This is a felony that comes with up to 4 years of jail time, as well as a $5,000 fine
  • Selling marijuana to a minor: This is a felony that comes with up to 7 years jail time, as well as a $5,000 fine

Contact our experienced New York firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.