The state of New York recognizes different degrees of arson, all of which are based on certain criteria like if you occupied the property, you intentionally caused the fire, or a person was seriously injured. All of the offenses are taken seriously, but first-degree arson is the most severe, situated alongside first-degree murder. Find out the different types of arson offenses, their penalties, and how a proficient Rockland County criminal defense attorney at The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway can help to reduce or eliminate these charges altogether.
What are the different types of arson offenses in New York?
In the state of New York, there are five different types of arson offenses realized. Their distinctions read as follows:
- First-degree arson: you intentionally damaged a building or motor vehicle by causing an explosion or a fire. Such fire caused the serious injury of another party or was caused to receive a financial advantage, otherwise known as committing insurance fraud.
- Second-degree arson: you intentionally damaged a building or motor vehicle by starting a fire with the knowledge that another party was present.
- Third-degree arson: you intentionally damaged a building or motor vehicle by causing an explosion or starting a fire.
- Fourth-degree arson: you recklessly damaged a building or motor vehicle by intentionally causing an explosion or starting a fire.
- Fifth-degree arson: you intentionally damaged the property of another party without their consent by starting a fire or causing an explosion.
What are the possible penalties for arson in New York?
And with the differing degrees of arson, there are differing consequences. For one, first-degree arson is considered a class A-1 felony in the state of New York, which constitutes a maximum life sentence in prison or a minimum sentence of anywhere between 15 to 40 years. As for second-degree arson, this class B felony calls for a prison sentence of anywhere between five to 25 years.
Third-degree, fourth-degree, and fifth-degree arson are considered a class C felony, class E felony, and class A misdemeanor, respectively. With that, the penalties are as follows:
- Third-degree arson: prison sentence of anywhere between one to 15 years.
- Fourth-degree arson: prison sentence of up to four years, with a possibility of a probation term of five years.
- Fifth-degree arson: prison sentence of up to one year, with a possibility of a probation term of three years instead of jail time.
And with all of these charges, you are facing potential fines and restitution. To defend these potential charges against you, it is in your best interest to employ the services of a talented Rockland County, NY criminal law attorney.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM
Attorney Conway is a Spring Valley criminal attorney and is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. Contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation today.