What Are the Penalties for an Aggravated DWI in New York State?

If you were caught operating your vehicle with a blood alcohol content of higher than .18%, you will be charged with an aggravated DWI in New York. .18% BAC is more than twice the legal limit. You will face harsh penalties for this crime including the potential loss of your license, high fines, and potential jail time. If you have been charged with an aggravated DWI in New York, continue reading and reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney to learn more about the penalties you can expect.

It is important that you retain the services of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who has experience handling cases such as yours. Our firm understands the weight that aggravated DWI charges will have on an individual’s future. Give our firm a call to learn how we will fight these charges on your behalf.

What are the penalties for a first-offense aggravated DWI in NY?

If you have been charged with a first-offense aggravated DWI in New York, you will likely lose your license for a least one year. You may also have to spend up to one year in jail and pay a potential $5,000 fine.

What are the penalties for a second-offense aggravated DWI in NY?

New York enforces harsher penalties for second-offense aggravated DWIs. For a second offense, you can expect up to four years of incarceration, the loss of your license for at least 18 months, and a potential $5,000 fine.

How long can I expect to go to jail for a third aggravated DWI in NY?

If you have been charged with a third aggravated DWI in New York, you can expect to be sentenced to jail for up to seven years. Other consequences for a third-offense aggravated DWI in New York include the revocation of your license for 18 months and potential fines between $2,000 and $10,000.

If you have been charged with an aggravated DWI, you will require the assistance of a criminal defense attorney. To learn more about how a criminal defense attorney can fight for your rights in court, give our firm a call today to schedule your initial consultation. Our experienced attorney will explore all defense opportunities to fight your charges. We understand the weight that these charges will have on an individual’s future. Give us a call today to learn more.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer,ย contact our Spring Valley officeย for a free consultation.