What are the Consequences of an Aggravated DWI in New York State?

If you are charged with a DWI in New York State, you can expect harsh penalties and long-lasting ramifications. New York State does not take drunk driving cases lightly, and they will most likely do whatever they can to get you off the road. It will even further compound your problem if you have been charged with an aggravated DWI, which means you were driving while under the influence of alcohol and had a blood alcohol content of 0.18% or higher. If you are in this situation, you must read on and hire an experienced attorney as soon as possible to help combat this charge.

What are the consequences of a first-offense aggravated DWI?

If you are charged with a first-offense aggravated DWI, here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • Fines up to $2500
  • Up to one year in jail time
  • Surcharges and assessment cost
  • A revoked license for at least one year

Fortunately, with the help of a knowledgeable attorney, you may be eligible for the Impaired Drinking Driver Program and a conditional license, which you can use to get to school, work, and other essential destinations. 

What are the penalties for a second aggravated DWI?

If this is your second time being charged with an aggravated DWI within 10 years, you are facing a class E felony. The courts treat you even harsher than before, which is why you will especially need a tough attorney in your corner. Here are some of the potential penalties for a second aggravated DWI:

  • Fines up to $5000
  • Up to four years in jail time
  • Surcharges and assessment cost
  • A revoked license for at least 18 months
  • Possible enrollment in the Impaired Driver Program at your own cost–failure to complete the program may be considered a violation of your probation

What are the penalties for a third or subsequent aggravated DWI?

A third or subsequent DWI comes with extremely damaging consequences. They are as follows:

  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Up to seven years in jail time
  • Surcharges and assessment cost
  • A revoked license for at least 18 months
  • Possible enrollment in the Impaired Driver Program at your own cost

Not only can an attorney help mitigate the damage of your DWI, but he or she may even get your case thrown out altogether. Do yourself a favor and hire an attorney who will tenaciously fight for your rights.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.