Underage New Year’s Eve DWIs in New York State | What You Should Know

There are few things worse than receiving a DWI. Unfortunately, this is especially true if you are under the age of 21. Many people assume that courts will cut them slack because of their young age, however, this is seldom the case. If you were charged with an underage DWI this New Year’s, you must continue reading and speak with our experienced New York criminal defense attorney to learn more about underage DWIs and how our firm can help you fight one. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the legal process ahead:

What happens if I am charged with an underage DWI in New York?

There are very serious consequences for driving while under the influence of alcohol while under the age of 21 in New York State. In fact, you may face even harsher penalties than those charged with DWIs while over the age of 21. Some of the consequences you may face for an underage DWI in New York State are as follows:

  • You will lose your license for an extended period of time, perhaps until you reach the age of 21.
  • You may have to install and use the ignition interlock device at your own cost.
  • You will most likely have to enroll in the New York IDP
  • You may face a $125 civil penalty and a $100 fee for suspension termination, as well as additional high fines and fees

If you refuse to submit to chemical testing, such as a breathalyzer test, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • A revoked license for at least one year
  • A $300 civil penalty
  • A potential $250 annual surcharge for 3 years
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license

What are the defenses against DWI charges?

If you’ve received an underage DWI in New York State, you must retain the services of an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney who can work to disprove your charges. Some of the most common defenses against DWI charges include proving the law enforcement unlawfully stopped you, improperly administered a Field Sobriety Test, and more. The defense our firm will provide largely depends on the circumstances of your arrest, so it is critical that you retain the services of a knowledgeable attorney as soon as you can so we can begin mounting the best defense possible. If you are ready to get started, simply pick up the phone and give us a call today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.