What Are Some of the Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Rockland County?

Driving on a suspended license, aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle, or driving without a registration that’s been suspended can be elevated to a felony-grade offense if the prior conviction resulted in a DWI. However, they are still treated very seriously in the justice courts. As a misdemeanor, it’s a crime that can impact […]

Read More

What are the Consequences of a Firearm Arrest in Rockland County, New York?

In New York State, possession of an illegal firearm is a very serious matter. It’s a felony grade offense in most instances. If the gun was operable and loaded, you are facing the most serious weapon offense. In addition to firearms, there are many items that would be considered weapons and could subject you to […]

Read More

What are the Penalties for a Cell Phone Violation in Rockland County?

New York State recently upgraded the points that would be assessed for use of a cell phone while you’re driving. It’s now a five-point violation. State law enforcement and courts are more aggressive than when the laws originally went into effect. Mainly, the change in response is due to the abilities of a cell phone […]

Read More

What are the Penalties for a First Offense DWI/DUI in Rockland County and NYS?

If you’re found guilty or you plead guilty to a DWI in the state of New York, you will have a criminal record. It’s a misdemeanor grade offense. A first-time conviction for DWI opens you up to ramifications of a fine schedule between $500.00 and $1,000.00. Your license would be suspended for a six-month period […]

Read More