Memorial Day DWIs in New York State

This Memorial Day, police will be on the lookout for those who are driving under the influence of alcohol. If you are arrested and receive a DWI, you must continue reading and reach out to our experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn more about DWIs in NYS and how our firm can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I get a DWI in New York State?

If you receive a DWI, even if it is only your first offense, you can expect significant consequences that can impact your life for years down the road. Some of the penalties for a first offense DWI in NYS are as follows:

  • A revoked license for at least 6 months
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • Fines of up to $1,000

What are the consequences of a DWI as a minor?

If you are under the age of 21 and are found to be driving while under the influence of alcohol, you will face the following penalties:

  • A 6-month suspension of your driving privileges
  • Possible installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)

What happens if I get a second DWI in New York?

If this is your second DWI, you will now be treated as a repeat offender, which means you cannot go forward without the assistance of an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney. You may face the following penalties for a second DWI in New York:

  • At least a 1-year license revocation
  • Up to 4 years of incarceration
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • Up to $5,000 in fines

What are the penalties for a third DWI in New York?

If this is your third DWI, you risk losing your driving privileges forever. The potential consequences of a third or subsequent DWI in New York are as follows:

  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • At least a 1-year license revocation
  • Additional state surcharges
  • Up to $10,000 in fines

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer,ย contact our Spring Valley officeย for a free consultation.