Memorial Day DWI Crackdown

New York State law enforcement is well aware that the numbers of people driving while intoxicated increase with major holidays. This weekend is Memorial Day weekend, often considered the unofficial start of summer and is a time that many people travel to barbecues, bars, beaches, and more, to kick off the warm weather. Summer celebrations have a tendency to be synonymous with alcohol consumption and unfortunately, many people put their lives and the lives of others on the road in danger by drinking and driving. If you are charged with a DWI in New York State, you can expect to face serious consequences.

A first offense DWI will result in a fine between $500 and $1,000, and up to 1 year of imprisonment. In addition, your driver’s license may be revoked for a minimum of six months. It is important to note that if you are charged with a Driving While Impaired by a Drug (DWAI-Drug), you will also be facing a $500-$1,000 fine, 1 year in jail, and a license suspension for at least six months.

If you get a second DWI conviction within 10 years, you are facing a class E felony, a fine between $1,000 and $5,000, up to 4 years in jail, and a license revocation of a minimum of one year.

Your best bet is to not drink and drive. There are plenty of options, such as a taxi, Uber, designated driver, and even some local municipalities that offer free rides on holiday weekends to make sure people get home safe. However, if you are charged with driving while intoxicated, contact our firm as soon as possible.

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.