Labor Day DWIs in New York | What to Know

As Labor Day approaches, it is important to understand the increased risk of drunk driving and DWIs on the roads of New York. New York law enforcement will especially crackdown on reckless driving incidents around holidays such as this. Continue reading to learn the consequences of first, second, and third offense DWI charges in New York. If you have been recently charged with a DWI, reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney to learn how we can assist you. Give our firm a call to discover more about our services and how we can assist you.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI?

The penalties for a first-offense DWI may include the following consequences:

  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines from $500-$1000

Drivers who are under the age of 21 can face the following consequences for a first offense DWI:

  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $100 fee for suspension termination

What are the consequences of a second-offense DWI?

Drivers who are 21 or older and are charged with a second offense DWI may face the following penalties:

  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years

Underage drunk driving consequences for second-offense DWIs include the following consequences:

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • A civil penalty of $125

What are the penalties for a third offense DWI?

In an attempt to keep drunk drivers off the road, New York does not take third or subsequent DWI charges lightly. Being charged for a third time for a DWI within 10 years will result in the following severe consequences:

  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • Jail sentence of up to 7 years
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibility of license being permanently revoked
  • State surcharges

If you require criminal defense services after being charged with a DWI this Labor Day, give our firm a call to learn how we will fight for your rights in court. We are here to help.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer,ย contact our Spring Valley officeย for a free consultation.