Fourth of July DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

New York does not take DWI charges lightly. With the Fourth of July around the corner, it is important to understand that the holiday marks a heightened risk of deaths due to drunk driving incidents. To keep our roads safe, New York law enforcement will especially crackdown on reckless driving incidents, especially those that involve drivers who are under the influence. Continue reading to discover the penalties for first, second, and third offense DWIs in the state of New York and the difference your age will make regarding these charges.

If you have received a DWI charge this holiday, you will require the assistance of a criminal defense attorney. Reach out to our firm to schedule an initial consultation and to discuss your situation. Give us a call today to begin this process.

What are the penalties of a first offense DWI?

When drivers are caught drinking and driving in New York and they are under the age of 21 they can face the following consequences:

  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines from $500-$1000

Drivers who are under the age of 21 can face the following consequences for a first offense DWI:

  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $100 fee for suspension termination

What are the penalties of second offense DWIs?

For a second offense DWI, individuals who are 21 or older charged will face the following penalties:

  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years

Being charged with a DWI for a second time while under the age of 21 will result in the following consequences:

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • A civil penalty of $125

What are the penalties of third offense DWIs?

Being charged a third time for a DWI within 10 years can result in the following severe penalties:

  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • Jail sentence of up to 7 years
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibility of license being permanently revoked
  • State surcharges

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer,ย contact our Spring Valley officeย for a free consultation.