Fourth of July DWIs In New York State

The Fourth of July is a day of celebration, and though it is okay to have a couple of drinks, it is not okay to get behind the wheel of a car afterward. Unfortunately, many people do, and are caught doing so. If you are someone who has recently been charged with a DWI in New York, you must read on and reach out to our experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn more about how we can help you.

What are the consequences for a first-offense DWI in New York State?

For a first offense DUI, you can expect to face very harsh consequences that may affect various facets of your life. The consequences for a first offense DWI in New York are as follows:

  • You may lose your license for 6 months
  • You may have to enroll in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • You may face up to $1,000 in fines
  • You may spend up to 1 year in jail

Will I go to jail if I got a DWI while under the age of 21?

If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol while under the age of 21, you can expect to face the following penalties:

  • You will most likely lose your license for at least 6 months
  • You will most likely have to enroll in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • You will most likely have to install and use the ignition interlock device
  • You will have to pay a $125 civil penalty, as well as a $100 fee for suspension termination

What are the penalties for a second-offense DWI in New York State?

For a second-offense DWI in New York State, you can expect to face even harsher consequences that may impact your life for years to come. The consequences for a second-offense DWI in NYS are as follows:

  • You will lose your license for at least one year
  • You may spend up to 4 years in jail
  • You can expect to enroll in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • You may spend up to $5,000 in fines

Will I go to jail if I receive a third DWI in New York?

For a third or subsequent DWI in New York, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • You may spend up to 7 years in jail.
  • You will most likely lose your license for years.
  • You will have to pay up to $10,000 in fines, as well as additional state surcharges

Regardless of whether this is your first or third DWI, reach out to our experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney today. Our firm is here to help.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer, contact our Spring Valley office for a free consultation.