New York state has a reputation for having very strict gun laws. This is especially the case if you have previously committed a criminal offense. Any violation of these gun laws will lead to serious criminal charges and penalties. Read on to understand whether you have the right to own a gun after a DWI offense and how a seasoned Spring Valley gun crime lawyer of The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway can help you navigate these complex laws.
Can I own a gun if I get a DWI in New York state?
New York law states that an individual who has been convicted of a felony or otherwise a serious offense cannot be issued or renewed a handgun license. Federal law similarly states that an individual who has been convicted of a felony is prohibited from possessing firearms. Thus, you cannot obtain a gun license if you have been convicted of a DWI offense.
What are the consequences of owning a gun after a DWI in New York state?
You are likely facing some sort of consequences if you are caught illegally owning a gun. Such consequences can be tied to either a misdemeanor or a felony, as they depend on the circumstances of your case. They read as follows:
- Class B misdemeanor, with up to three months in jail:
- Unlawful possession of certain ammunition feeding devices.
- Class A misdemeanor, with up to one year in jail:
- Unlawful possession of a large capacity ammunition feeding device.
- Criminal possession of a weapon in the fourth degree.
- Criminal purchase or disposal of a weapon.
- Certain wounds were reported.
- Unsafe storage of rifles, shotguns, and firearms.
- Class E felony, with up to four years in prison:
- Criminal possession of a weapon on school grounds.
- Criminal possession of a firearm.
- Class D felony, with between two to seven years in prison:
- Criminal possession of a weapon or sale of a firearm in the third degree.
- Class C felony, with between three to 15 years in prison:
- Criminal possession of a weapon, use of a firearm, or sale of a firearm in the second degree.
- Criminal sale of a firearm with the aid of a minor or to a minor.
- Aggravated criminal possession of a weapon.
- Class B felony, with up to 25 years in prison:
- Criminal possession of a dangerous weapon, use of a firearm, or sale of a firearm in the first degree.
If you have been accused of criminal ownership of a gun after a DWI offense, you need the proper representation. Contact a competent Spring Valley DWI defense attorney as soon as you possibly can.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM
Attorney Conway is a Spring Valley criminal attorney and is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. Contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation today.