Charged With a DWI this Thanksgiving Eve in NY? What to Know

Thanksgiving Eve holds a tradition for many to spend the night bar-hoping and catching up with hometown friends. Unfortunately, this holiday also marks a heightened risk for drunk driving incidents. If you are facing DWI charges this Thanksgiving Eve, it is important to learn the potential penalties you may face. To learn more about DWI charges in New York, continue reading and reach out to our experienced New York DWI defense attorney.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI in New York?

When a driver is charged with a first-offense DWI in New York, they will face the following consequences:

  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

When a driver who is under the age of 21 is charged with a DWI, they will face the following consequences:

  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the consequences of a second-offense DWI in New York?

Drivers who are charged with a second offense DWI, and are 21 or older, may face the following consequences in New York:

  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Drivers who are underage and are charged with a second-offense DWI will face the following consequences in New York:

  • A civil penalty of $125
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the penalties for a third-offense DWI in New York?ย 

New York does not take third or subsequent DWI charges lightly. Drivers who are charged with a DWI for the third time within 10 years will face the following severe consequences:

  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • State surcharges
  • Jail sentence of up to 7 years
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibility of license being permanently revoked

If you are facing any of the above charges and penalties, it is in your best interest to retain the services of a dedicated criminal defense attorney who has specific experience handling charges such as yours. Give our firm a call today to learn more about how our New York DWI defense attorney can assist you. Our legal team is prepared to fight for your rights in court.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ROCKLAND COUNTY FIRM

Kevin T. Conway has over 30 years of experience as a Spring Valley criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need a Rockland County criminal lawyer,ย contact our Spring Valley officeย for a free consultation.